Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. George E. "Chip" Campsen III, Chairman Rep. Bruce W. Bannister, Vice-Chairman Sen. Gerald Malloy Sen. Greg Hembree Rep. Murrell Smith Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Kristian C. Bell Michael Hitchcock Joshua L. Howard Andrew N. Safran



Elizabeth Herlong Brogdon, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

September 2, 2016

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission announces that on September 1, 2016, the Commission elected Senator George E. "Chip" Campsen as Chair of the Commission for the remainder of 2016. Senator Campsen has ably served as a member of the Commission since 2012. He replaces former Chair Senator Larry A. Martin, who also began serving on the Commission in 2012. On August 16, 2016, Senator Martin appointed Senator Greg Hembree to fill his position on the Commission.

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission also announces that the Speaker of the House James H. "Jay" Lucas today appointed Greenville attorney Joshua L. Howard and Columbia attorney Andrew N. Safran, as new non-legislative members of the Commission.

The Commission was created in 1997 by a state constitutional provision and state statutes to investigate and determine the qualifications and fitness of judicial candidates for all position on the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit Court, Family Court, and Administrative Law Court. The Commission also screens candidates for appointment to Master-in-Equity positions, as well as retired judges for continued service through subsequent appointment by the Chief Justice of the SC Supreme Court.

For questions, please contact:

Elizabeth Herlong Brogdon, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202 (803) 212-6629